_  / 2011 

  for flute and movement / flutist: Klaasje Nieuwhof

 SKETCH - I, II, III    
                                                                                                 / artwork by: A.Yurtsevich  /  



“Three Little Pieces for Body and Voice” was conceived with the idea of creating multidisciplinary work with its artistic content and dramaturgy derived entirely
from the originally created graphic artwork, to transcribed into the musical language.
This work consists of three 'Sketches' - graphic score in three parts,
transcribed for flute and movement together with 
flutist Klaasje Nieuwhof. 

The visual score from the very beginning of its conception was created as a 'visual music' – as a visual dramaturgy of the music composition. Being a musician and
visual artist myself, while creating this visual artwork as a graphic score, I kept in mind physiognomy of the musical medium for which this score was written:
physicality of the gestures or the performer and the movements of the body (time, gravity, space); musical parameters of the sound (volume, dynamics, timbre) and
physicality of the voice (breathing, pitch, musical gestures, textures); as well as, basic rules of creation of the aesthetically valuable visual work by keeping
a balance through distribution of visual accents on canvas. The artwork (score) is not a pre-conceptualized theoretical idea nor exact prescription of what the
final artistic result should be, but rather a starting point, an open ground to 'yet to be discovered' choreographic and musical content of visual data, revealing
to us its hidden essence.
/ It is an open call research and ongoing work in progress /